pixel
Select Page

Foreman

Foreman is a management tool for the complete lifecycle of servers and enables system administrators to easily automate recurring tasks, quickly deploy applications and proactively manage servers on site or in the cloud.

Foreman

Open Source Lifecycle Management

Foreman ist the lifecycle management tool for physical and virtual servers. The Foreman is an open source project that helps administrators manage their systems throughout the lifecycle, from provisioning and configuration to orchestration and monitoring.

Automation

Using Puppet, Ansible or Chef and the Foreman Smart Proxy architecture, regular tasks can be automated and applications rolled out at the touch of a button.

+

Integration

Foreman offers a web frontend, a CLI and a RESTful API. In addition, a large number of plugins are available to customize Foreman to individual needs.

Dashboard

Foreman is the perfect frontend for the open source variants of Puppet and Ansible. Be it controlling your own server virtualization or analyzing the configuration management.

Features

Adapts to your needs

With Foreman, applications can be quickly provided and servers provisioned (Bare Metal (MaaS), Amazon EC2, Google Compute Engine, OpenStack, Libvirt, oVirt, VMware and many other providers).

Provisioning

Provide complete systems from the ground up – controlled by an interface for both bare metal systems and private and public cloud systems.

Configuration Management

A complete solution for configuration management – with Puppet as well as Ansible and Ansible Tower / AWX.

Reporting

Inventory and Activity Monitoring of Puppet, Ansible and Chef Reports and Facts – including all configuration states and trends.

Software management

Local repositories for content management

Through the Katello project, Foreman is also becoming a solution for software management, often also referred to as content management. So if you opt for the Katello installation variant, you receive a local mirror for software repositories and the option of filtering their content in content views and using lifecycle environments to try out updates in a test environment before they are imported into production.

Using the appropriate subscription, Red Hat and SUSE customers also receive an integration for the Enterprise Linux derivatives. Katello also forms the basis for enterprise solutions such as the Red Hat Network Satellite 6 and orcharhino.

Orchestration

Task management and templates

With the remote execution plug-in, jobs can be executed ad-hoc or recurring at set times. If you want, you can use simple shell commands or Ansible playbooks. If the ready-made jobs are not enough, new templates can also be created. With live output and overviews of the status of the individual jobs, nothing stands in the way of even the most critical tasks.

Integration

Foreman with Puppet or Ansible

News

Posts from our Blog

Foreman Birthday Event: Let’s celebrate!

Foreman Birthday Event: Let’s celebrate!

On July 1, 2021 we have the pleasure to celebrate the birthday of one great open source solution: the Foreman is turning 12! Happy anniversary! Together with our friends from the Foreman Project and ATIX we organize a one-day event to celebrate and dive into the...

Foreman’s 12 birthday – we will have a virtual party

Foreman’s 12 birthday – we will have a virtual party

Beginning with Foreman's 7th birthday in the year 2016 we are organizing an annual party to celebrate with the awesome community. As we partnered up with ATIX for organizing this event, it was their turn last year and with Covid19 they had the additional challenge to...

Webinars

Our webinar archive for Foreman

Service from the market leader

We are happy to bring you our experience from more than 500 projects. Whether professional services, training or support for your environment.

pixel
Seite wählen

Foreman

Foreman ist ein Management Tool für dem kompletten Lebenszyklus von Servern und gibt Systemadministratoren die Möglichkeit, immer wiederkehrende Aufgaben einfach zu automatisieren, Anwendungen schnell bereitzustellen und Server proaktiv vor Ort oder in der Cloud zu verwalten.

Foreman

Open Source Lifecycle Management

Foreman ist das Lifecycle-Management Tool für physische und virtuelle Server. Der “Vorarbeiter” ist ein Open Source Projekt, welches Administratoren dabei unterstützt, ihre Systeme während der kompletten Einsatzzeit (Lifecycle) von der Provisionierung und Konfiguration bis hin zur Orchestrierung und Monitoring zu managen.

Automatisierung

Unter Einsatz von Puppet oder Ansible und der Smart Proxy Architektur von Foreman können regelmäßige Aufgaben automatisiert und Applikationen auf Knopfdruck ausgerollt werden.

+

Integration

Foreman bietet ein Web Frontend, eine CLI und eine RESTful API. Darüber hinaus steht eine große Anzahl an Plugins bereit um Foreman an die individuellen Bedürfnisse anzupassen.

Dashboard

Foreman eignet sich hervorragend als Frontend für die Open Source Varianten von Puppet und Ansible – sowohl für die Steuerung als auch für die Analyse des Konfigurationsmanagements.

Features

Passt sich flexibel den Bedürfnissen an

Mit Foreman können Anwendungen schnell bereitgestellt und Server provisioniert (Bare Metal (MaaS), Amazon EC2, Google Compute Engine, OpenStack, Libvirt, oVirt, VMware und viele andere Anbieter) werden. 

Provisionierung

Stelle komplette Systeme von Grund auf zur Verfügung – gesteuert von einem Interface sowohl für Bare Metal Systeme als auch für private und öffentliche Cloudsysteme (Amazon EC2, Google Compute Engine, OpenStack, Libvirt, oVirt, VMware und viele andere Anbieter).

Konfigurationsmanagement

Eine komplette Lösung für das Konfigurationsmanagement – sowohl mit Puppet als auch mit Ansible und Ansible Tower/AWX.

Reporting

Inventarisierung und Aktivitätsmonitoring von Puppet und Ansible Reports und Facts – einschließlich aller Konfigurationszustände und Trends.

Softwaremanagement

Lokale Repositories für das Contentmanagement

Foreman wird durch das Projekt Katello auch zu einer Lösung für Softwaremanagement, oftmals auch als Contentmanagement bezeichnet. Wer sich also für die Installationsvariante Katello entscheidet, erhält einen lokalen Mirror für Software-Repositories und die Möglichkeit deren Inhalt in Content-Views zu filtern und durch Lifecycle-Environments Updates erst in einer Testumgebung zu erproben, bevor diese in Produktion eingespielt werden.

Die entsprechende Subscription vorausgesetzt, erhalten Red-Hat- und SUSE-Kunden hierbei auch eine Integration für die Enterprise-Linux-Derivate. Katello bildet auch die Basis für die Enterprise-Lösungen wie den Red Hat Network Satellite 6 und orcharhino.

Orchestration

Aufgabenverwaltung und Templates

Mit dem Remote-Execution-Plugin können Jobs ad-hoc oder auch wiederkehrend zu festgelegten Zeiten ausgeführt werden. Wer möchte, nutzt hierbei einfache Shell-Befehle oder Ansible-Playbooks. Wenn die vorgefertigten Jobs nicht ausreichen, lassen sich auch neue Templates erstellen. Durch Live-Output und Übersichten über den Status der einzelnen Jobs steht somit auch den kritischsten Aufgaben nichts mehr im Weg.

Integration

Foreman mit Puppet oder Ansible

Aktuelles

Artikel aus unserem Blog

Foreman’s 12 birthday – we will have a virtual party

Foreman’s 12 birthday – we will have a virtual party

Beginning with Foreman's 7th birthday in the year 2016 we are organizing an annual party to celebrate with the awesome community. As we partnered up with ATIX for organizing this event, it was their turn last year and with Covid19 they had the additional challenge to...

Config Management Camp Ghent 2020 – Recap

It seams like Config Management Camp at beginning of February in Ghent gets a fixed date for me. I attended the fifth year in series, gave a talk in the last three and joined the Foreman Construction day on the day after as many times. So why am I still attending...

Webinare

Unser Webinararchiv für Foreman

Beratung vom Marktführer

Unsere Erfahrung aus über 500 Projekten bringen wir gerne bei ihnen ein. Ob Professional Services, Schulungen oder auch Support ihrer Umgebung.